Raw Blueberry Apple Pie

image

I’m obsessed with desserts. No matter how I am eating I enjoy sweets. However, sugar isn’t my friend. Even so-called raw sugar makes me gain weight. I suppose it’s not truly raw unless I squeeze it from the cane myself. My sweet tooth has been satisfied with alternatives like grade B maple syrup, vanilla extract, almond extract, stevia, dates, bananas and other fruits. I still have to eat all those in moderation because inside my body it turns into sugar.
I am focused on my growth virtue of self-discipline.
The following is a refined sugar-free sweet and tart apple-pie.

Tools: Blender, food processor and dehydrator* if making your own banana chips.

Crust
° 8 dates
° 1/2 c raw almonds
° 2 c dehydrated banana slices
° 1 Tbsp lemon zest
° 1/2 tsp sea salt
° splash of coconut water
Filling
° 1/2 c blueberries or raisins
° 4 dates
° 3 c apples peeled and chopped
° 1 tsp cinnamon
° 1 tsp nutmeg
° 1 tsp vanilla extract or vanilla bean
° 2 Tbsps lemon juice

Soak dates and raisins for 20 mins.
To make crust process almonds, banana chips, lemon zest, salt, and 8 of the dates until you get a sticky dough. Press date dough evenly into 9″ pie pan.
To make filling blend 1c apples, 4 dates, blueberries or raisins cinnamon, nutmeg, vanilla until smooth.
Process remaining 2c apples in food processor with lemon juice keeping mixture chunky add blended filling and pulse until mixed.
Pour filling into pie crust and refrigerate or dehydrate for two hours. Serve with raw vanilla ice dream.

* I don’t own a dehydrator but I use my gas oven and an oven thermometer to dehydrate my foods. Here’s an article that helped me. How to dehydrate without a dehydrator

Leave a Reply

